So, where are you going to be a prof?

That’s the question I get when I tell someone I am doing masters in Applied Mathematics.  “So with your degree you could be a lecturer. Where are you going to teach?”

It’s exasperating, to say the least; especially when it is coming from my well educated engineer friends-some of them even pursuing Phds. I have no problem whatsoever with teaching, and I do want to teach. But I can’t believe that with all their engineering degrees, they honestly think that’s all Math graduates could do.

“I am waiting for you to make up your mind,” I am going to answer next time this question is asked.”I hope you won’t mind recommending me.”

This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

