My reading list

For a while now I have been thinking of putting up a reading list for myself. I love reading, and you will never catch me without a book; so I do already have a reading list. But this one is different: this is my ambitious reading list-books that I am afraid to pick up , or books that I think require more effort that I can afford at this time or the classics that are on all the “best-ever” lists but which no one has actually ever read.

I want to put them all down here, so that I can come back and check if I did what I meant to do. So here we go: to be read in the near and the not-so-near future:

a) Gödel, Escher, Bach: An Eternal Golden Braid.

b) The voyage of the Beagle.

c) The Origin of Species.s

Update: Read this one, hence the strike through. My only thought on finishing this book was: why did I not do this earlier? It is amazing that a scientific principle of so much beauty, and so much significance-which is capable of explaining so much-is accessible to everyone who is willing to read a small book. And it is incredibly sad that not more people do it.

d) The ants by Bert Hölldobler and Edward O. Wilson.

e) Laurent Schwartz’s original paper on the theory of distributions.

f) Graham Higman, B. H. Neumann and Hanna Neumann’s paper introducing HNN extensions.

g) A Mathematical Theory of Communication by C. E. Shannon.

h) Homer’s Odyssey (Translation).

i) Tagore’s work in Bengali.

j) At least one of Sharat Chandra Chatterji’s works in Bengali; he is a writer whose translated work brought tears to my eyes-and I am talking big tears rolling down my cheeks.

k) Ulysses by James Joyce

l) At least one of Bertrand Russell’s works.

k) The Master and margarita by Mikhail  Bulgakov (in Russian). Heard the audiobook recently, and it just blew my mind. Reading it in Russian would be my Mount Everest. Parking this one for my retirement.

That’s what I can recall at the moment; but I’ll come back and update this list as I work through it and/or I grow more ambitious.


This entry was posted in Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

